30 August 2008

On the Anniversary of the Effective Date of Summorum Pontificum


From the Institute's website comes confirmation of my earlier post that the former Rector of St. Francis de Sales Oratory in St. Louis, Fr. Karl W. Lenhardt, will celebrate the Traditional Latin Mass that will be televised by EWTN on September 14:

INSTITUTE TO CELEBRATE LIVE TELEVISED MASS

On Sunday, September 14th, members of the Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest will celebrate a Solemn High Mass at Our Lady of the Angels Monastery of the Poor Clares of Perpetual Adoration in Hanceville, Alabama. The conventual Mass will be broadcast live by EWTN, the Global Catholic Network, to a worldwide audience of 140 million homes, through TV, radio, and live streaming video online.

September 14th marks the first anniversary of the implementation of Pope Benedict XVI's motu proprio "Summorum Pontificum" [PDF]. The Solemn High Mass will be in commemoration of, and thanksgiving for, this pivotal document of His Holiness, which confirms that the Latin Rite in its ancient form as presented in the 1962 liturgical books of the Roman Catholic Church was never abrogated and is available to all priests and all faithful who desire it.

The live broadcast from Our Lady of the Angels Monastery will take place at 8:00 AM Eastern Time USA, 14:00 Central European Time, 12:00 UTC.

2 comments:

TKSB2GOD said...

Correction- Our Lady of the Angels Monastery is in HANCEVILLE, AL. Thanks for the great blogspot.
God Bless

thetimman said...

Thanks, I will correct it. I had the temerity to assume that the hanceville-- which the Institute website has entirely correct-- must have been a mistake.

Another hour of the hairshirt--mea culpa!